I’m putting Buzzfeed’s “Only Summer Workout You Need” to the test!

Guess what! Having a baby really changes your body. I know Captain Obvious here is not telling you anything you don’t know. But guess what, losing baby weight is super hard! At least for me. Whoever these magical people are that said Breastfeeding will make you lose the baby weight easily are full or sh*t because it did not help me. Maybe you burned 10,000 calories a day breastfeeding and see the weight melt off you like butter in the hot sun, but for me I have to work hard to lose weight and then I have to work hard to maintain it.

The last time I got fit and lost quite of bit of weight took about a year. People were telling me that weight was melting off me and it seemed so easy. Actually I would spend upwards of 7-10 hours a week working out and meticulously monitored everything I ate. It was not “Melting off me” I was working my butt off to get into shape.

I gained 50 lbs in my pregnancy. I know a lot of people do and it doesn’t really bother me because I was growing a person. But in the few months before I got pregnancy I gained about 20 lbs so in my mind I was up 70 lbs! Which was almost HALF my body weight. Of course, the first few weeks after baby it was great. I was losing like 5 lbs every day.

Walk up the stairs – boom – 10 lbs gone! Awesome. Only that doesn’t last.

Here’s where I am now:
I am still carry 10 lbs of baby weight, plus the 20 lbs I gained before I got pregnant, so really about 30 lbs that I don’t want to be carry. And yes I know that it’s not really about the weight or number on the scale but this goes beyond that. I am definitely not as fit as I once was. I can’t run as well and I definitely have lost strength. I use to pride myself on fitness. When I would spent 7-10 hours a week in the gym it was because I really wanted to be there! I loved watching my gains each week as I was able to load more and more weight onto the barbell. I loved seeing the improvements in my cardio performance. I took pride in the fact that I had a resting hard rate around 55 bpm because my heart was that freakin’ healthy!

So I have decided that it is time to kick it up a notch and really work on fitness. So when I stumbled upon this Buzzfeed article and read the work out plan I thought that it would fit with my current lifestyle and would be perfect way to jump start my new fitness journey.

I would commit to completing this 4 week program.

This article tells me that this is the “only summer plan I need” so I am going to give it a go and review it here. Keeping in mind that although it says it’s the only thing I need this summer, I am also part of a dragon boat club so in addition to these workouts I’ll also be paddling in 1 day of races over this 4 week period as well as practicing up to 3 times a week. As well. husband and I do regularly go for hour long walks with baby so I think that there will be times when I do more than just this program.

Here’s what I like about it:
Dumbbells – the only equipment is dumbbells. This means I can do it at home or work.
Exercises – the exercises are all ones that I am already familiar with. No learning new form for me.
Cardio-Flexibility – Cardio is anything you want to do on Saturdays only
Simplicity – the routines are the same each week. The reps and sets don’t change. The only change would be the amount of weight you are using.

Here’s what I don’t love about it but am willing to look beyond: 
Over simple: Since it is “dumbbells only” some of the exercises aren’t how I would like them. For example, on Monday Dumbbell Floor Press, I would much rather lay on a bench and do this as opposed to the floor.  Or Wednesday’s Glute Bridge I would prefer a Barbell instead of a dumbbell. So I will likely be adjusting the workouts while staying true to the spirit of the move. Also for a lot of the floor work you probably would want an exercise mat depending on the floor you are using but in trying to create a simple routine with minimal equipment that isn’t really mentioned.
Cardio is Interval: All the cardio is interval which isn’t my favourite thing in the world but mostly that is because I hate paying attention to a timer. I think I’ll download an app for that and just set it to buzz every 60 seconds.

I plan to complete this over the month of June (and first week of July) and blog about results.

Now, here comes the part that I really don’t want to do this but I figured it would be helpful in my journey so here are my BEFORE STATS and pictures. These were taken Monday June 8th before the first workout in the gym. I didn’t have anyone to take the photo so I did an “In the mirror selfie” and I think I lost a little bit of self-respect for myself in doing it.

The second photo is my "I can't believe I am taking a selfie in the mirror, I hope no one sees this. Is it lined up? Oh ya it is. Snap picture and be done with this" face
The second photo is my “I can’t believe I am taking a selfie in the mirror, I hope no one sees this. Is it lined up? Oh ya it is. Snap picture and be done with this” face

***Mental Note** When this is all over find someone to take the after photos of me so I never have to sneakily take my picture in the gym mirror again**

Now. Compare that to this photo of me from 2012. It was around my 1 year anniversary and I was about to run the Warrior Dash-because yes, that is what I wanted to do for my anniversary. Run an obstacle course. This was not the skinniest I have been as an adult but I would say it is the fittest I have ever been as an adult. So There’s the goal. To get back to that fitness level.  I may not have that same body but I want to be that fit again.

warrior dash
My motivation photo! Me when I was the fittest I have ever been! Let’s get back there!

That year I completed the Warrior Dash in just over an hour. Literally seconds over an hour.

Up next…a review of the first week of exercises and how I am feeling about it.

2 thoughts on “I’m putting Buzzfeed’s “Only Summer Workout You Need” to the test!

  1. Nice! Can’t wait to follow your journey! I think that the biggest thing is to get in a sweat once a day. At least for me, as long as I push myself to really try in my workouts, then my energy gets up and I just feel all-around better about myself/life.

    Looking forward to hearing about your progress! 🙂

Leave a Reply

